Sock-tober

I’ve been seeing the title “Sock-tober” pop up in my reader a lot lately. As far as I can tell, October seems to be the month of sock knitting….

Darn, just when I went through virtually the entire month of September by knitting only socks! I’ve actually been trying to knit on my sweater as much as possible.

The reason, you see, isn’t Second Sock Syndrome (the fickle beast), but it is something almost as bad. It’s a conspiracy.

I’ve been working on the Earl Grey Socks for my dad for about a week now. And I can’t seem to make any progress. No matter how much I knit, the cuff never seems to match the desired length (2 inches for adults is my rule of thumb). I swear that it’s a conspiracy. Something is ripping back my knitting while I’m in class. I’m going to have to keep a closer eye on it.

After tonight I’ll know for sure. For the month of Sock-tober, I’m going to try to do a row on the sock every day. No promises, but that’s the goal. October is the month where it finally dawns on me that all of my Christmas knitting plans might be a little insane. I have a lot of knitting to do. Let’s consult the list:

  • Socks for Dad
  • Socks for boyfriend
  • Socks for brother
  • Sweater
  • Scarf for best friend
  • Mittens for sister

That doesn’t seem like much, but if you’re a full time student with midterms and finals coming up… That’s a lot.

But, with my Sock-tober plan in place, I’ll break this conspiracy and churn out a sock in no time. I hope.

4 thoughts on “Sock-tober

  1. Good luck on your Christmas knitting! I know how challenging it can be to try to whip up presents during the school year. Hopefully the sock gnomes will leave you alone for a while so you can make some progress on your dad’s poor socks (I seem to have my own sock gnome at the moment as well). Best wishes!
    ~Lacey

  2. Oh goodness, good luck!! I had to stop knitting so many Christmas presents because I was killing myself doing it… Spending the last 3 months of the year cranking out as many handknits as an elf in santas workshop 😉 On the flip side, all that knitting should feel like therapy during crunch time at school.

Leave a Reply

