How to memorize amino acids

School work has officially hit. I have my first Biochemistry quiz on September 18th, worth 10% of my grade. Last year, in both of my first year chemistry classes, I did very poorly, which has me nervous for this class. So, I’ve been studying. I have to memorize 20 amino acids, their chemical structures, and their specifics. Our professor is very kind and made them into a deck of cards which I have been studying like crazy.

This feels like a midterm, and I’m already using my midterm-studying-coping-strategies. In other words, knitting. I study for a while, then knit a few rows.

The second Hat-Heel Sock has been started. It’s little more than a nub at the moment, but it’s a great thing to have as a study buddy – the rows are short and don’t take very long, but are still enough to create a break.

How to memorize your amino acids – knitting rewards

At this rate, I’ll be done the heel and the gussets by tomorrow morning… Unless my will to study dies out, which it might.

My bigger study break is the sweater. I tend to work on it before I go to bed, to wind down and enjoy some trashy television. I’ve made quite a bit of progress… I think I already have 7 inches done of 17.5! Doesn’t seem like much if you look at it that way, but to me it’s tons.

The big study break – the sweater

In other news, the 101 things list has a growing list of done items. Last night I also cooked meat for the first time… Chicken! It was so easy that I feel silly for thinking it was so hard. I’ve also successfully made Indian dahl (a spicy lentil dish) and I would have to say that this cooking thing really isn’t too hard. My only issue is ingredients… They cost way too much and cut into my yarn budget!

Now I’m back to my amino acids…

One thought on “How to memorize amino acids

  1. My college roomate worked as a vet tech who was studying to be a doctor so I well remember helping her study all of the chemistry and biology. Best of luck to you! The deck of cards is a brilliant idea! Enjoy your knitting and your cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

