Meant to be

I’m beginning to wonder if this sweater is meant to be.

After a long shopping session on Saturday, I finally picked out my yarn and bought 15 skeins of it. I shared photos yesterday. So, I started to work on my gauge. I didn’t get the recommended gauge, of course (because really, who does?).

I went to look for bigger needles. Did I have the next size up? Of course not. That would be too simple. So I decided to try to get gauge with two needle sizes up.

I was still half an inch off, and it was beginning to look like lace, since the needles were way too big for the yarn. Clearly I needed to get some thicker yarn.

So, off I went to the yarn store, bulging bag of yarn in tow. I walked up to the store, to find the door locked. Lovely. This yarn wasn’t meant to be.

This morning it was raining, so I didn’t get to ride the horses. Instead, I got ready for work early and went to the yarn store beforehand. I got the old yarn returned, and went to look for some different stuff. I found a colour I liked, but do you think they had enough? Of course not. But, after some careful sleuthing, we found enough in the same die lot!

The replacement yarn is Paton’s Shetland Chunky in Soft Teal. I’m excited to start on it. I’m really hoping that I can use my size 8’s, because they are the only wooden needles I own, and I’m rather fond of the wooden needles for chunkier stuff.

One of these days I will actually cast on for this silly sweater.

Leave a Reply

