In the public eye

I’m a closet knitter. I tend not to knit in public places, and I don’t knit in front of anyone except my family, my boyfriend, and my very close friends.

I haven’t always been this way. I remember when I was younger, and just starting out, I would bring my knitting with me everywhere I went. I was probably around 10-12 at the time. I will never forget someone looking at me a little funny in a waiting room once, then another lady saying “She’s knitting… What is she, a grandma?” And from then on… The knitting stayed in the bag.

Then I went to highschool. I had to be very careful about knitting. Anything I made and wore in public had to be extra-cool. I made mittens in grade 11 that were red and white houndstooth pattern (I still wear them regularly) and I remember some of my classmates ooh-ing and ahh-ing over them. Inevitably, the “where did you get them” question came up… I told them I made the mittens. There were looks of confusion, but in the presence of knitted items that they clearly approved of, they were decently supportive. None-the-less, I maintained my knitting in secret status.

Since I’ve moved away to University, my perception has changed a little, but I’m still a closet knitter. Am I afraid to show people that I am successful at an age-old craft? That if all of the clothing production in the world shut down one day, I would still be warm? That instead of sitting on the couch and eating a bag of chips every night, I sit on the couch and make socks? I’m more productive than the average human, that’s for sure. And there are millions of knitters in the world. Without knitters, during World War I and World War II, our soldiers’ feet and hands would have frozen solid. (I can’t scientifically back that up, but I’ve always thought the propaganda about knitting for the soldiers and supporting the war effort was pretty cool).

I think that if I brought the knitting everywhere I needed to go, I would get a lot more done. How often to I have a weird 10 minute wait for something? Could have been knitting. Lineup at the gym? Could have been knitting. Waiting for a class to start? Could have been knitting. Bus ride home? Could have been knitting. You get the picture.

I carted my super-scary-pattern-sock-knitting around with me yesterday, and I have before and after pictures to show just how much work you can get done.

Heel and gussets done; just a big mess of stitch holders, needles, and cut yarn

After an hour break at work, and a movie last night, part of the foot is complete!

See what I mean? Progress, by using all available time, public or no.

(Since you’re wondering, these are Hat Heel Socks in Paton’s Kroy Sock yarn. I’ll have to check the colourway.)

4 thoughts on “In the public eye

  1. I’m still way too nervous to crochet and knit in public which I think is a shame, because I could get so much done. The only people I knit/crochet in front of are my parents and my boyfriend, maybe my friends if something really needs to get done. It’s amazing how much you can get done if you bring your knitting with you.

  2. I used to crochet and knit on the bus for my morning university class my freshman year. I got some interesting looks, and sadly hid it away in my dorm room on the rare moments I had to pick up the needles (or crochet hook). I definitely see where you are coming from. One day though, I am going to participate in Knit in Public day—with a friend, for some emotional support πŸ˜€

  3. I was in a knitting club at my university, and I learned from it how many young people can knit or think its cool. I have no problem knitting around young adults. But if an elderly woman is around, I always hide it! They love I ask questions.

    I have those same stitch holders πŸ™‚

  4. No way, I love it. No one knows how to do it anymore either so people sometimes stare at you like you’re doing this amazing trick (when really the scarf I’m knitting is far from impressive…) especially if you’re good at all that tricky stuff you should do it all the time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

