A realization, of sorts

I have been browsing yarn shops, knitting stores, and patterns all morning. I have realized a number of things:

1. Drooling over knitting bags (that I really don’t need) is only wasting my yarn budget.

2. Ravelry doesn’t understand what I mean by tunic. I want something sort of like this, but with sleeves. Not a sweater dress, but not a sweater. Something just long enough to wear with tights.

3. My sister will always need mittens. She always has cold hands, and she has a tendency to go through at least one pair of mittens per day… The perks of having a sister with a disability & therefore bad circulation. Knitted things are always necessary and welcome.

4. There is no way I will ever be able to knit everything in my “Favourites” list on Ravelry.

5. All of the things that I have favourited from magazines, with the hope of creating a pattern just from the picture, will probably never be made. I don’t know the first thing about creating patterns (unless it’s for hats), especially not for the brutally complex sweaters that I’m fond of.

6. Thinking about knitting does not mean I am actually knitting, nor does it get the knitting done any faster. I’m still slow, no matter what I do.

I have come to the conclusion that I need to bring knitting with me to class starting in the fall, so I can knit in my awkward 50 minute break between classes. I can also knit while I’m waiting for things, and as a study break. That will get things done. This conclusion means that I need a small, packable knitting bag. I’m sure I could make one, but it’s way more fun to look at them online.

Clearly, I have a problem with stuff. I’m forgetting that the actual act of knitting is what I enjoy.

I think there will be a trip to the yarn store tomorrow… There goes the yarn budget, right out the window.

Leave a Reply

