An Obsession

Clearly, knitting is my obsession. It’s not all I think about, but it definitely occupies a lot of brain space. I think about patterns and I think about yarn. I want to knit all the time. I love to see the progress, and I have a soft spot for self-striping yarns.

All of this is true, and I’m a dedicated sock knitter who loves to see progress quickly. That being said, my heart is sending me in another direction lately.

I want to make something big. An afghan, a blanket, a sweater, a wrap, even a big scarf! Something other than socks. Something that can be knit flat on straight needles (I don’t even know what those are lately).

I don’t know what is making me feel this way. I’ve never had this urge before. I’ve never felt the need to do something so vastly different than what I have done before. Don’t get me wrong; I’ve made my fair share of scarves. I made a baby blanket once too. I have never, ever felt the need to knit a sweater though.

I know I’ll be heading in to town to my local yarn shop towards the end of the week to grab some yarn for my next pattern. It’s going to be a big one, and I can’t help but feel like it’s a sign. It’s going to be my winter project, and it needs to be a big one, because this is going to be a long winter (what winter in Canada isn’t long?). This sweater is also a sign that putting one stitch in front of another is going to get things done.

I don’t know what has gotten into me. I’m stuck between two patterns, and I have half a mind to just go and get the yarn for both. I caught myself dreaming about snow today… Winter fever has definitely set in. We just have to get through a couple of months of cold, drizzly fall first.

Who needs spring fever when they’ve got sweater fever?

Leave a Reply

