Help

I’m drowning.

I mentioned a little while ago that I wanted to write a book. In fact, I’ve wanted to write a book since I was a little girl. I’ve always wanted to write a book. When I was a kid, people would say, what do you want to be when you grow up? I would say a vet, and an author on the side. Or an interior designer and an author on the side. Or a pastry chef and an author on the side.

Then I went to highschool, got horses, started being more social… And the writing thing kind of dropped off. I was busy enough writing essays and stuff for English class that my creativity was being utilized.

Then I went to University. I rarely wrote papers, and when I did, they were the strictly factual scientific kind. That’s what happens when you’re in an biological science program.

I mentioned it in passing to my boyfriend, who said: Why don’t you do it? Write a book. Promise me you will send something in for publishing. Just to say you did it.

So I made a goal, that by the end of the summer I would have something to send in. Something.

Because when I said I wanted to be an author on the side, I meant the famous, best-seller, book-deals-abound, turning-it-into-a-movie kind of author. That’s what I meant.

So I’ve been writing. I have a great idea, with good characters and my story line is all mapped out. But I turn on the computer to write, and I end up cruising Ravelry or writing blog posts (at least I’m writing something I suppose). I just can’t seem to sit down and spew out the words necessary to get it done. I mean, I have about 7,000 words right now, and I’ve been working on it for three weeks.

I need to get serious. I need more motivation. I need some more time. I need dedicated writing time, when I’m not wishing I was doing something else (likely knitting/riding).

I need your help dear readers. Are any of you writers? Are any of you crazy organizational masters? Do any of you have ways to make me write more? Or words of encouragement? Leave something in the comments or contact me via email (see the contact link above) to let me know.

Somebody throw me a lifesaver.

2 thoughts on “Help

Leave a Reply

