That sinking feeling

It’s happened quite a few times in the past 24 hours… That sinking feeling.

First, last night, upon realizing that I have a horse show on Saturday, and I don’t have boots or a show coat (crisis averted, they arrived this morning).

Then, again last night, upon realizing that I skipped a good 14 rows of a chart. How exactly does one do this? Perhaps by knitting in the semi-dark. Also through my inherent inability to read and follow a pattern.

14 rows is a lot of rows. And I absolutely hate frogging, but sometimes you have to. Namely when you’ve already done the first two heel flap rows.

I did manage to recover from last night’s fiasco with the chart. The SIP is now only 4 rows away from starting the heel flap (for real this time, I swear). It looks pretty good too.

This morning I figured that I would stop at my local (sort-of) yarn shop on the way to work. We don’t really have dedicated yarn shops where I’m from, since I live in the middle of nowhere, but we do have a few stores that sell yarn. I dropped into one this morning, only to find that it didn’t open until 10 (I started work at 10). Joy.

Back to the drawing board on that one, looks like I’m going to have to wait until tomorrow until I can get my yarn fix. I haven’t been yarn shopping in over a year.

OVER A YEAR.

What is wrong with me? I am extremely cheap and on a student’s budget to boot. There’s tons of leftovers in my yarn bin(s) that I’ve been working on using up. It has been fulfilling my yarn cravings, but sometimes a girl needs new yarn for a specific project.

Since the store is closed, I’ve been drooling over yarn online. I’ll be right back as soon as I finish staring at this hand painted sock stuff that goes for $28/skein + shipping……..

Leave a Reply

